Jury Members for 7th BISFF
Subrata Sen

Subrata Sen is a film director, screenwriter, novelist and producer. Graduated in physics fromthe Presidency College, Kolkata he started his carrier as a banker, and then as a journalist. He made his first film Ek Je Achhe Kanya in 2001which made waves. This film introduced Konkona Sen Sharma on screen. It earned an entry into the Karlovy Vary Film Festival. It also won the Gollapudi Srinivas National Award. His follow-up film Swapner Feriwala (2002) earned Sen some shelf-life in international arena, including an inclusion into that year's Karlovy Vary Film Festival line-up, proving Sen to be an emerging maverick of Indian cinema.His third film Nil Nirjane (2003) was the first digital movie to be made in India. The film became a cult among the young population in Bengal. It won the Best Experimental Film award at the Down Under Film Festival, Australia. His fourth film Hotath Neerar Jonnyo (2005) was based on a short story by Sunil Gangopadhyay. His fifth film Bibar (2006) was based on a controversial Bengali classic by SamareshBasu. Koyekti Meyer Golpo (2012)won him an entry into the competition section of Madrid International Film Festival 2013. Sen's films are said to be the beginning of "urban genre" of Bengali films and are now course material in plenty of film schools in India. Sen has made twelve films so far, while the thirteenth, titled Projapoti, based on a novel which was banned in India on accusations of obscenity, is in the last stage of post-production.

2001: Ek Je Achhe Kanya
2002: Swapner Feriwala
2003: Nil Nirjane
2005: Hotath Neerar Jonnyo
2006: Bibar
2012: Koyekti Meyer Golpo
2014: Sada Canvas
2015: Mister Bhaduri
2018: Kali (Documentary)
2020: PunglingoStrilingo

Haobam Paban Kumar

Haobam Paban Kumar is a prominent voice emitting out of the restive north eastern state of Manipur, dabbling in both non-fiction and fiction storytelling. Immediately after graduating from SRFTI Kolkata in Direction and screenwriting, he burst onto the documentary scenario with his hard-hitting film, AFSPA 1958. It brought many accolades including the first Swarna Kamal for Manipur at the 56th National Film Awards 2009. After nearly a decade of making non-fiction, he made his critically acclaimed feature film Loktak Lairembee (Lady of the Lake) which featured at 67th Berlin Film Festival 2017. Nine Hills One Valley is his second narrative feature. Till date, Paban has won 4 National film awards, 7 Indian Panorama Selection and many international Awards.


Nine Hills One Valley/ 2020/ Fiction/ Feature/ 75 Min
Pabung Syam /2020/ Documentary/ 52 Min
Loktak Lairembee (Lady of the lake)/ 2016/ Fiction/ Feature/ 72 Min
Phum Shang (Floating Life)/ 2014/ Documentary/ Short/ 52 Min
Ruptured Spring/ 2012/ Documentary/ Short/ 16 Min
Nupishabi (Women Impersonator)/ 2010/ Documentary/ Short/ 52 Min
Mr. India/ 2009/ Documentary/ Short/ 47 Min
The First Leap/ 2008 / Documentary/ Short/ 25 Min
Ngaihak Lambida/ 2006/ Fiction/ Short/ 19 Min
A Cry in the Dark/ 2006/ Documentary/ Short/ 52 Min
AFSPA 1958/ 2005/ Documentary/ Feature/ 77 Min

Sharofat Arabova

Sharofat Arabova is a filmmaker and a film scholar based in Dushanbe, Tajikistan. She graduated in Cultural Studies from Russian-Tajik (Slavic) University (2006) and in Film Direction from the Film and Television Institute of India in Pune (2013). She is an alumna ofBusan Asian Film Academy, and Berlinale Talents. She holds a Ph.D. and researches different aspects of Tajik cinema. She is a member of the Filmmakers’ Union of Tajikistan and the Network for the Promotion of Asian Cinema (NETPAC) and served on an international jury in Bishkek, Moscow, Bucheon, Dhaka, Kazan, Kolkata, Bangalore, Toronto, Vesoul, and Kathmandu.


Nasib, 2021, Short Fiction,30M
The Tulip Stories, 2020, Documentary, 22M
Safarnoma: Notes on a Heritage Path, 2019, Documentary, 66M
Dad: In memory of Mamatkul Arabov, 2019, Documentary, 94M
The Illusion Seller, 2017, Short Fiction, 22M
Tasfiya, 2014, Feature-Fiction, 74M
Serge, 2013, Short Fiction, 9M
IN Between, 2013, Short Fiction, 24M
Flying High, 2010, Short Fiction